Berlin bargains

In honour of our trip to Berlin, I thought I would share some past projects made with wool I bought in Berlin.

The best bargain had to be the giant ball of Schewe Nebraska wool – 820 yds/750 m in purple. This cost just €7 (just under $9/just under £6). It’s a gorgeous colour, machine washable and soft. One ball let me make: one short sleeved jumper, two sets of baby booties, and one baby blanket. What a bargain!

 Camden jumper (short sleeved)

Baby booties

Baby blanket

Also a bargain, although not quite a big a bargain, was the deep blue and cream wool I got to make the sleeveless jacquard Sparkle dress from Vogue Knitting’s 25th anniversary edition. The pattern required over 2300 yds/2100 m of wool, so I was pleased to find such great colours at a reasonable price.

Dress front

Dress side

This dress wasn’t the easiest and took a full 6 months of serious knitting to complete. Not really everyday wearing, but I’ve had some great compliments on it when I do take it out. Overall, it ended up a bit big and a bit long and I had to take in the seams (which isn’t great on a knitted garment) – still, feel quite a sense of accomplishment!

2 thoughts on “Berlin bargains

    • It is a bit, but once you get started, it gets much easier. I definitely recommend doing a proper full pattern repeat swatch though!

Leave a Reply

