And you shall go to the ball, in regal purple

Last year, I asked for this Marfy pattern for Christmas. I had no occassion that required such a dress, but love it anyways.

This year, a project at work was shortlisted for the IITT Training Awards, which culminates in a black-tie event at the Dorchester Hotel in London. Luckily, I get to attend the event and now I have a reason to make and wear this dress.

While we were in California, I did some fabric shopping. Fabric is much cheaper in the States and there is a pretty good selection. My first trip didn’t work out – they didn’t have enough fabric in the lovely teal I picked out. On a second trip to a different store, I came across this lovely regal purple satin. And I got 6 yards of it for under £30!


I’ve only got until 3 Feb to get this done and haven’t done more than tape the pattern peices together for a first basic look at the construction and fit (Marfy patterns have no sewing instructions or seam allowances, making the pattern that much more challenging!) Will be making a muslin and trying to decide whether to line it or not. If I do line it, do I just reconstruct the outer shell in lining fabric (with all the complicated seams) or use the muslin to create a more simple inner shell? I’d better decide quick and get sewing!

See also:

I’m so going to loooove this dress

And the award goes to…

2 thoughts on “And you shall go to the ball, in regal purple

  1. Pingback: And the award goes to… « I made this!
  2. Pingback: I’m so going to loooove this dress… « I made this!

Leave a Reply

