Something old, something blue

This blue suit was the project I selected to do during a course on Professional Fit for Home Sewers at the London College of Fashion a couple years ago. The course wasn’t all I had hoped for, but I did learn a few new tricks and managed to do some good tailoring on the suit.

The pattern is Vogue 8543 and generally fit quite well. I did a full bust adjustment, lengthened the sleeves and skirt, and had to take in the hip a bit.

The fabric is a lovely lightweight wool blend, purchased for me by my mother-in-law in Ipoh, Malaysia. It’s fully lined, with lovely top-stitching on the interesting curved seams on the skirt. I love the pleats at the back, the flare on the sleeves and the cut of the collar. Just a pity I don’t have that many opportunities to wear a suit!

3 thoughts on “Something old, something blue

  1. thanks for sharing your link on my blog, it’s so helpful to see the pattern made up! You’re right about the sleeves balancing the back, and I think the skirt goes beautifully with the jacket. I like the colour you’ve picked, I was going to use a light grey colour just like the pattern envelope – I should be more adventurous and original!

  2. Pingback: No repeats yet… Me Made March, week 3 « I made this!

Leave a Reply

