Outfits from around the world: Me Made March week 4

Back in week 2, I posited that I would soon have to start repeating items of clothing in order to continue wearing one me-made item a week. But I made it through week 3, and as week 4 dawned, I realised that if I got a little creative, I just might make it through all 31 days without a repeat.

So this has become my new challenge to myself – every day for the entire month of March, to wear at least one handmade or refashioned item that I haven’t worn before that month.

This does, of course, mean that some of the outfits have been a bit kooky. I have been wearing a lot more tights so my legs don’t freeze as I don summer dresses in order to meet the challenge. (I took it as an excuse to buy myself some more tights). But I’ve got to say, I’m feeling proud of myself for it. An unexpected consequence – I haven’t been wearing my trainers nearly as much. Which is neither good nor bad, just something I realised today.

So, without further ado, this weeks items:

Monday – the Michael Kors bobble jumper that really made me want to get good at knitting

I practiced my new knitting skills for a year, just so I could be good enough to make this jumper

Tuesday – white linen dress. I seem to think this is a DKNY pattern, but I can’t find it online anymore. Linen is from Budapest so this is another one of my ‘souvenir’ dresses

What's not to love about a dress with so much faggotting trim?

Wednesday – the 1940’s S-curve dress. So nice in theory, but don’t love it in practice. I think I chose the wrong fabric. Anyways, this fabric is Japanese blouse fabric, picked up in Malaysia.

Lovely colour, but the static cling drove me crazy all day!

Thursday – I love the sort of 70’s vibe of the colours and the print on this dress. Fabric is from Puerto Vallarta, Mexico, where we celebrated my dad’s 75th birthday. Pattern is Vogue 1091 Tom and Linda Platt design, for those keep track

On a side note, I LOVE these Joseph Seibel shoes, purchased for me by my father-in-law in Berlin.

Friday – Vogue 2900 DKNY dress. Love the pockets (more women’s clothing should have pockets!). Fabric is from Malaysia again, trimmed with brown grosgrain (petersham) ribbon. The eagle-eyed among you may notice that there is a repeat here, in my brown minimalist cardigan. But the dress hasn’t been worn before this month.

This dress' first outing was this time last year, when I wore it to dinner at my first and only Michelin starred dining experience. I went to Helene Darroze in Paris, with my awesome mum (who taught me to sew) and her fantastic friend Peggy.

Saturday – OK, in order to wear something new and me made each day, I’m having to stretch a bit in the home stretch. Today’s item was just a pair of me-made socks.

If you've never worn hand knitted socks, you don't know what you're missing

Sunday – where’s Sunday? Well, you’ll have to wait for the final week for Sunday’s outfit. Why? Just because.

As always, you can catch up with the whole series of clothes on my Flickr set.

Leave a Reply

