The ‘Weekend in Croatia’ t-shirt dress

Why the name? Because it took a weekend to make. And I bought the fabric in Croatia. Simple!

Made from Vogue 7782 from a lovely T-shirt interlock jersey. It is, as you would expect, terribly comfy.

Changes: I didn’t add a zipper or the back vent. The fabric is stretchy enough to not need it. I also omitted the facings, finishing the neckline with bias binding instead.

What would I do differently? The neckline isn’t quite right. It gapes a bit at the back and is a bit high at the front. I may adjust later on. I think I probably should have made a size smaller, given that the pattern is for a woven (although it does say you can use knits) and therefore has more ease that I needed. This would have reduced the shoulder span and hopefully fixed the fit at the top. It’s not bad – just not perfect. I also reckon the pleats could be bigger and bolder – they get a bit lost (they’re my left hand side, at the waist, in case you’re squinting to try and find them)

I’m especially happy with the discovery of the great knit stitches on my Bernina. And grateful to Gerties post about overlocking on a regular sewing machine – I did that on all the seams, which made for a lovely interior finish. It also encouraged me to discover more knit stitches, such as the honeycomb stitch for doing self-facings on knits. It wouldn’t come out if I photographed it – but it creates a nice stretchy pattern around the sleeve and bottom hem.

My favourite bits? The super comfy fabric, the sleeve and hem length and the gorgeous purple colour. That and the new techniques!

2 thoughts on “The ‘Weekend in Croatia’ t-shirt dress

  1. Pingback: Drawing bodies and clothing – improved. Faces – not so much… | I made this!

Leave a Reply

