The blue tuck wiggle dress

Butterick’s B5559 is a popular pattern. Everyone on Pattern Review seems to love it and have great results. And I can see why – at first I thought that darts in addition to tucks on a knit dress was excessive – but it all goes towards creating a dress with great shape that is comfortable wear (even if it is a ‘wiggle’ dress). The slightly longer short sleeve, with the slightly wider neck, gives the style of this dress a more vintage feel to me (not that I really know much about vintage fashion!)

Apologies for the blown out colours - the regular photographer was in Paris this day, so these were taken on the lovely Athina's iPhone

This was made from a really lovely wool knit I bought at the Knitting and Stitching show last October. The fabric was crying out for something classic and a little special and I think this dress fits the bill well. The tucks were easier to create than you might think. And did I mention it was comfy? I even got the comment that this was the best thing I’ve ever made. Lovely.

3 thoughts on “The blue tuck wiggle dress

  1. Pingback: I’m a citizen! | I made this!

Leave a Reply

