Our first baby blanket

This isn’t the first time I’ve made this baby blanket – the first version was a darker colour purple and made for my neice a couple years back.

But this is the first item I’ve made for our first baby – yes, this is my way of announcing that Ken and I are going to join the parenting club.

This is based on the Lillian Baby Blanket Pattern – a very easy but lovely pattern which can be made to any size and from just about any wool. This is a Rowan Organic Wool Double Knit that I had left over from a cardigan. Originally this was going to be a new blanket for the cat but when we found out the news, the recipient changed (sorry Shakey!) Seasoned parents will probably tell me I’m mad to make a blanket for a child which requires hand-washing. And yes, I agree, it’s probably very silly. But it just seemed fitting. Perhaps it’ll just be decorative.

Pregnancy seems to be all the rage these days, as I noticed Kristy of Lower Your Presser Foot, Minnado’s House, and Isabelle of Kitty Couture all rocking some awesome handmade maternity items. I’ve made a couple of items that should last me a few months into this adventure in changing body shape and have a few more planned. Watch this space…

3 thoughts on “Our first baby blanket

  1. Pingback: The ultimate battle? Shakey vs. the Grumpasaurus | I made this!
  2. Pingback: Our second baby blanket | I made this!

Leave a Reply

