Hazel Basket Weave Short-Sleeved Cardigan

I purchased the pattern for this short-sleeved cardigan several years ago at a Knitting and Stitching Show. Then last October, I got a good deal on this Rowan tweed wool, which was the right weight and amount for knitting it up. I started back in November, but lost momentum while we were away on holiday. Even though I took my knitting with me and had many opportunities (read long flights) to do some work on it, I didn’t. Just wasn’t that excited about it.

I finally finished it but am not sure how much I like it. It’s not meant to be a ‘maternity’ cardigan but it very nearly buttons up around the bump. This may mean it’s too big – we’ll have to wait a few more months to see how I like it post maternity. Right now, however, I’m grateful for any clothing I can wear. As I mentioned, I’m getting a bit bored with wearing the same things all the time.

The cardigan is knit in one piece, so you only have to seam the sides and underarms. This makes for a lovely change in direction for the pattern from the front (where the stitches show vertically) to the arms (where they show horizontally). It seems a well designed pattern, I’m just not certain how I feel about it yet.

One thought on “Hazel Basket Weave Short-Sleeved Cardigan

  1. Pingback: The ultimate battle? Shakey vs. the Grumpasaurus | I made this!

Leave a Reply

