Baby’s first birthday dress

dressFrontKristy over at Lower Your Presser Foot has a lovely tradition of making her children a new item of clothing each birthday. I have followed suit, making the dress view of Simplicity 4054 out of fabric leftover from the Puerto Vallarta dress. I made the one year old size, but it has turned out too big for my daughter to wear now. Perhaps in a few months, when she’s grown a bit taller and wider. Not entirely sure why they size kids’ clothes by age, rather than height and/or width – I haven’t found age to be a particularly reliable measurement past the 3 month stage…

dressBackBut I digress. The fabric is thin, so I lined the dress with some lightweight cotton leftover from some other project I can’t even remember. I just cut out all the pieces again, and sewed the skirt to the bodice on both. Then I attached the lining to the main fabric alone the neck edge, straps and armhole and back edges. Then turned the lining to the inside, hemmed both lining and skirt (making sure the hem on the lining was deeper, so it wouldn’t peek beneath the bottom end of the skirt). I fastened it at the back with snaps rather than buttons. We’ll see how sturdy that is – I may have to do buttonholes and buttons if the dress straps don’t stay snapped as they should.

So there you have it – the first of (hopefully) many birthday garments!

 

2 thoughts on “Baby’s first birthday dress

  1. What a sweet idea to make a new item for every birthday! I might do the same thing for my little one! And I completely agree about clothing sizes. Very cute dress, too 🙂

  2. Very cute! – and great idea to make a birthday dress each year. Re: size of dress – it may work out better that it’s too large now, as the weather may actually be warmer when it does fit 😉

Leave a Reply

