Something like a Sencha

fullSenchaI finally got round to trying Colette Patterns and made myself a Sencha blouse. Verdict? I can see why the patterns are popular – nicely presented, well written, interesting designs. The only bit I struggled with was the placement of the buttonholes and buttons. I wasn’t paying attention and they ended up too close to the edge. Not sure if that’s just my problem or if newbies might struggle with that as well.

backSenchaThis shirt was made out of some leftover blouse material, purchased many years ago in Malaysia. It was previously used on a 1940’s dress, which was a huge mistake – it didn’t have the necessary weight to pull off the design and the dress was rarely worn. It went to the charity shop in the last clear out. This blouse is more successful though – comfy and cool – I just wish I’d paid more attention to the length as it’s almost too short. I modified it by taking out the bottom darts. When they were in, the middle ballooned out in a very unattractive way (not necessarily a fault of the pattern – more of the type of fabric I chose).

So, overall, happy to finally have made something wearable out of this bit of fabric that came halfway around the world.

dartsSencha

Neckline dart details – my favourite feature

Leave a Reply

