The West Wing shawl

drapedI loved the pattern on the Oslo shawl and the challenge that the colourwork seemed to pose. Only when I started did I realise that that beautiful patterned colours are exceedingly easy to create. All the better, to be honest, as I only learned the easy way to carry colours towards the end of the project – mostly I was dropping one colour and picking up another every few stitches when required, which was time consuming. I was also wrapping strands, to avoid gaps, without realising that it was unnecessary if I was carrying the colours across the back of the work (stranding) instead of using discrete bobbins of colour (intarsia). Just goes to show there is still room to learn, even if you’ve been knitting for over a decade.

foldedThe wool is from Red Heart, a brand I hadn’t heard of until the last Knitting and Stitching Show at Alexandra Palace. LoveKnitting.com had a big display and a special deal on Red Heart wool, so I stocked up for several projects. It’s lovely, easy stuff. Not the luxe and difficult to care for kind of lovely. Just the workhorse, sturdy but soft, affordable everyday kind of lovely – which I actually prefer in most cases.

I decided I wanted a bigger shawl, something that would properly cover my shoulders and upper back. So after consulting with the designer (who was lovely and helpful in her responses), I added 2 additional repeats of the main pattern. I calculated that this wouldn’t cause major problems for the border pattern and it didn’t. But I neglected to review and revise one section, meaning one part of the end pattern isn’t quite right on the increases around the point. It’s certainly something I could have fixed. But it’s also something I can live with.

laidOutSo why the West Wing shawl? This project was started when I went on maternity leave and finished in the weeks just following the birth of my second daughter. I had several weeks of maternity leave prior to her birth, which I used wisely by knitting and binge watching The West Wing. I miss that program – but at least I have a nice shawl to keep me warm.

Leave a Reply

