Our second baby blanket

foldedBlanketFor the birth of my second daughter, I intended to make a second baby blanket*. The idea was to make the Retro Baby Blanket and I purchased some great, hard wearing Red Heart wool (which I raved about for my West Wing shawl) to complete it. They had some fantastic bright neon colours that I thought would work great for a happy and bright baby blanket. But then I felt the Retro blanket might be too much, with all those bright colours and I noticed the designer, Little Doolally on Ravelry, had all kinds of nifty blankets to choose from. So we ended up with the Winifred Baby Blanket.

picotEdgeBlanketAnd what can I say except I absolutely love it? The wool is great, I love the colours, the pattern was easy but creates a beautiful pattern (and the ‘wrong’ side is just as cool as the right side, although different). It even ends with a lovely picot border. My only complaint is that weaving in all those ends was BORING. I did try a technique to crochet them into the start of the next row, which was mildly successful although tended to create some lumpy ends. But that’s it. It’s awesome.

drapedBlanket* Our first daughter got the first baby blanket, which is lovely but not as cool as this one. Sorry honey!

